Casa de Meiners

When you move to a coastal city you get visitors.  So not a complaint!

When we lived in Indianapolis we were 2 hours from home and the visitors were not that frequent.  Now that we are on the ocean we have had visitors 3/7 weeks we have been here.  I was in Chicago for a week during that time too.  My mother is coming next week, then Carla and the kids and Heidi is supposed to come before she goes back to teaching.  This past week Scott, Emy and Ben were here.  I think it was the first time we have ever done anything with just them.  Other family members have always been present. Well let me say we laughed  until bedtime!  Maxx and Ben wore themselves out playing.  Maxx enjoyed his cousin Ben so much he wanted him to sleep in his bed and not in the trundle.  Luckily Ben was open to sharing with him.  Could they look any cuter?  No, I don’t think so.

 Now for a piece of craft work.  Finally had time to take a few pictures of more recent work.  This was a Unity Stamp Co set that was released last month.  I believe this was my umpteenth (yes it IS a word) try at using flocking.  The oven mit felt like it needed to by fuzzy.  It was calling out for flocking.  Not to pleased with how it turned out.  For reasons unkown the ability to use flocking evades me. I can paint a mural yet I cannot use flocking.  Uhhhggg! 

The paper collection is from Kaiser.  I cannot seem to get enough of their stuff.  The variety of collections they have is fantastic.  Love, love, love the new materials that I saw at CHA.  Their wood products are as varied as their paper.  Melissa totally rocks and is a joy to watch.  They are an Australian company.  Thus, the employees Ozzies too.  Well I could listen to them talk all day.  What is it about accents? Not only was her demo at CHA educational it was fun too.

About nikimeiners

Friend, Wife, Mom and an all around crafty old soul. Artist, Writer, Creative Director and Style Maker. Lover of old, fond of the new. Craver of excitement, establisher of the calm. My website http://365daysofcrafts.com Bio- Growing up in a small mid-western town, Niki Meiners was surrounded by a modest, resourceful and very entrepreneurial family. Her simple upbringing spurred her "Can do" attitude and gave her the confidence to try any challenge placed before her. She knew there was more out there than just her small town and set off after high school to explore the world. It was through these travels that she discovered her love of art and her desire to make the world a prettier place. It was not until she suffered a paralyzing illness that she realized she wanted to reconsider her corporate career as a Chief Paper Pusher, and her thoughts immediately turned to her first passion, art. In 2003 she began an odyssey that would take her from product design to publication and everywhere in between. She is known for her distinctive, high quality creations that feature a diverse mix of styles and highly creative approach to even the smallest detail. Niki is an Idea Architect, easily outlining every project from concept to completion. Her creations are simultaneously beautiful and functional and her in depth knowledge of the industry allows her to produce projects with a specific understanding of both the consumers and the manufacturers. This knowledge has allowed her work to be featured in the industries leading craft and lifestyle publications and manufacturers’ websites. nikimeiners at gmail.com
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Casa de Meiners

  1. Melanie Muenchinger says:

    Hi Niki!
    I found your blog through the SCS thread, we may or may not have met at CHA, I’m not sure since I don’t see your pic(I met so many new people that weekend, I cna be really bad with names and faces, lots of Unity gals though in their cute shirts, tiaras and flip flops!)

    I think the colors of your blog are very tasteful , I think when they get too busy they take away from a person’s projects but if you’re worrying they’re too dull maybe you are just ready for a change! :)

    Very cute card and pic of your boys, how old are they? Mine are 6 and 3…

  2. Dragana says:

    Ditto… I don’t like cluttered blogs… It is hard to concentrate on what you really came for. I like the look of yours. :-)

  3. Emy says:

    Nope, they definitely couldn’t be ANY cuter! I think I might be a little biased though! :) So glad you guys grabbed the camera!

    Thanks again. It was so much fun.

Leave a Reply

