Blog Candy – A few of my favorite things

Thought I would celebrate a milestone I thought it would take years to reach.  10,000 hits.  I do not know why I resisted a blog for so long. I guess I thought I would be talking to myself.  Well, many times I still think I am.  So for all of you who put visit and see my misspellings, typos, grammatical errors, odd sense of humor  here is a little reward for putting up with that and more.  This pile is a few of my favorite companies plus a few things I have duplicates of or quite simply have not used.  (Okay, disclaimer – some how  I have 2 Mr. Fluffy the Owls and I used them both)   Prism Paper, Prima Flowers, Beacon Zip Dry, Kaiser Craft, Zsiage tag book & Alphabet, Frances Meyer brown alphabet rubons, Penny Black Stamp, Clearsnap Chalk ink Chestnut Roan Cat’s Eye, snaps, brads and who knows what else I will toss in by the time I make it to the post office.

To qualify – leave a post by Sunday Midnight EST.    Not a sucking up post either!!!  Seriously what do you like to see in a blog?  I know what I like and it might not be what you like.  So let me repeat NO SUCKING up comments.  🙂

About nikimeiners

Friend, Wife, Mom and an all around crafty old soul. Artist, Writer, Creative Director and Style Maker. Lover of old, fond of the new. Craver of excitement, establisher of the calm. My website http://365daysofcrafts.com Bio- Growing up in a small mid-western town, Niki Meiners was surrounded by a modest, resourceful and very entrepreneurial family. Her simple upbringing spurred her "Can do" attitude and gave her the confidence to try any challenge placed before her. She knew there was more out there than just her small town and set off after high school to explore the world. It was through these travels that she discovered her love of art and her desire to make the world a prettier place. It was not until she suffered a paralyzing illness that she realized she wanted to reconsider her corporate career as a Chief Paper Pusher, and her thoughts immediately turned to her first passion, art. In 2003 she began an odyssey that would take her from product design to publication and everywhere in between. She is known for her distinctive, high quality creations that feature a diverse mix of styles and highly creative approach to even the smallest detail. Niki is an Idea Architect, easily outlining every project from concept to completion. Her creations are simultaneously beautiful and functional and her in depth knowledge of the industry allows her to produce projects with a specific understanding of both the consumers and the manufacturers. This knowledge has allowed her work to be featured in the industries leading craft and lifestyle publications and manufacturers’ websites. nikimeiners at gmail.com
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Blog Candy – A few of my favorite things

  1. StampinCathy says:

    How about a little sucking up. Congrats on 10K and many more to come. This is a stamper’s dream come true. You really know how to celebrate with your readers. Enough of that.
    I love to see cards, altered items, 3D items, a little bit of personal info inserted every now and then. I love to try new techniques so tutorials are wonderful. Oh did I mention Candy? I love candy. LOL Thanks for a chance.

  2. Sheila from Texas says:

    Yum, Yum, I love candy especially blog candy! I love seeing the same stamp image in all different dimensions and how ladies can really make a change on just coloring or dp.

    Congratulations on her hits!! Totallly understand why.

    Sheila

  3. Pamspride says:

    I love to see blog candy too!! I also like to see 3-D items!! I do craft projects for the girls at church (about 20 of them) so I am also looking for ideas of things I can make with them!

  4. JenMarie says:

    WOWZERS girl! Is that Mr.Fluffy I see???
    I love to see pictures! Lots of pictures of projects for inspirations!
    Blog candy is nice too! 😉

  5. Shannah says:

    Are we allowed to at least say Congratulations on 10,000?!!! (Definately NOT in a sucking up way!)
    I love seeing cards, techniques and projects for the inspiration… as well as some stuff about you and your life to make it personal!
    Thanks Niki!

  6. Toni says:

    I like to see cards with a clear explanation of how it was made. I like to know what colors of ink and paper were used. I like to know what embellishments were chose and why. I like to know who makes the products that were used. I also really like it when people include measurements (but I never do this!!). Why? I just might want to make a purpose or case the card for my own personal enjoyment! How’s that for not sucking up!

  7. Michelle says:

    Congrats on 10,000 hits! I like to see different types of cards, layouts and other creative crafty items. I look for inspiration and new ideas. I like to see the details of all the items used on a specific project. I also love tips, tutorials and even a little enabling to check out cute new products!

  8. angie says:

    congrats on the 10k! i like photos. i also like the backstory, if you will. info like why you chose the materials or what you might do differently next time. kind of like the information you might share if you were creating irl with someone at a crop or something.

  9. Carla Pullum says:

    Wow this would be great for my scrapbooking group! We love to share and I am really behind on alot of my books and cards!

  10. Susan Daly says:

    Hi there,
    What I like to see on blogs. I like to see templates, new techniques, inspirational art and Tutorials. I don’t usually take the time to read a blog. The card or photo is the most important thing to me. If the card/photo interests me enough then I will read to see how it was made.
    Hope this helps.
    Awesome blog candy and congrats! on your numbers.

  11. Jenn says:

    ok no sucking up here! I love to see lots of pics, tutorials, and templates for those hard to make items. It’s also nice when there are personal photos, so we get a sense of who you are and what you do besides stamping (not that there is anything more important) 😉

  12. LuvLee says:

    Congrats on the 10K!!!! What amazing blog candy!! Seriously……..I love to see cards, of course, but I also love seeing some ideas of 3D creations and different tutorials so I can attempt some new techniques!

  13. Juut says:

    What I love to see in a blog is different techniques for cardmaking. And of course many cards to get inspired by them!

  14. scrapycandy says:

    I have to agree with everyone who has commented..my son is just starting a blog on advanced photoshop techniques and we will be faced with the same question that you ask. I love specifics on what was used to make a card…and specifics on a fun technique or a link to one, really makes my day. I love your aqua/red cards…they really pop! I never would have put those colors together. Have a great day…I hear a vacuum somewhere…..

  15. Levina says:

    Love to see some technique and cards.
    Great blogcandy and congratulations 10.000 hits

    Levina Netherlands

  16. Nancy says:

    Congrats on hitting 10,000! I’ll be lucky to hit 1,000 of my craft blog. LOL!

    Here is my non-sucking up comment: Where did you get the pie stamp (featured on a card in the post below) and did you use a punch behind it? It really is a cute card – and I really mean it so I’m not sucking up, right? 😉

    Thanks for the chance to win your blog candy. Looks like a lot of cool things in that pile! 🙂

  17. I like lots of pics and frequent posts! Congrats on your milestone Niki!

  18. I like to see different kinds of projects, personal news once in a while, and pictures of family. I like to feel like I really know someone that I’m following, and pictures sure help with that.

  19. Brian says:

    Awesome! Congrats! Great Blog! One of my new favorites!

    A crafter guy.

    Brian

  20. Sarah Parker says:

    LOL @ The anti-sucking up request!

    Ok, ok, in light of compliance… I’ll say I like to see new techniques and ideas in a blog. Posts that could be titled, “Look what I tried!” or “Look at this cool technique!”… It’s pretty obvious that you’re uber talented, so trying new things and putting out fresh ideas is what usually keeps me coming back to a blog.

    (Did you notice the inserted sucking up comment… sorry- I couldn’t resist!… lol)
    CONGRATS ON 10K HITS!!!

  21. Lorraine M. says:

    I don’t read blogs to find out about people. I read for the inspiration they share. So lots of pics and tutorials for things that I will actually use are most beneficial! TFS your stuff!

  22. Tanya says:

    Of course we love to see blog candy!!! But really, I like to see “personal challenges”, not just to ones hosted by DTs or the regular weekly challenges. I love it when someone comes up with a great idea to try, shares it and challenges anyone to do it. No prize, just a try it out and leave a link here kinda challenge. I’m right there with you on the directions and supplies list, though. I put off posting so often because I don’t want to type out that stinking supply list 🙂

  23. Kim says:

    OK, I’m way late but here’s my 2 cents.

    – project photos with some explanation of technique and product. Doesn’t have to be a how-to, but enough so I can figure it out.
    – frequent updates
    – a sense of humor
    – recipes if you mention food – hint, hint on the pumpking gingersnap dessert.

  24. mcbetty says:

    I like photos, ideas — especially for stamps I already have, info on new things coming out on the market. Also getting to know people better.

  25. pammy jo says:

    i enjoy the antecdotes on some blogs, but what i really want are some easy-to-make good-looking projects and some inspiration from the wonderful things you are making – thanks for asking 🙂

  26. Susan Rothbauer says:

    I love to see lots of samples on a blog – especially ones that include the supplies and tips for making techniques easier. Also, different ways to use products or tools that we all have stashed away in our desks and haven’t used for awhile.

  27. Elizabaeth Wislon says:

    I love your blog! I saw you in the SCS NC thread. I live in Charlotte.
    Your work is beautful! I love how you add so many layers to your work!
    And that Owl stamp! I just have to say I must have him! 🙂 TOO CUTE! 🙂
    Have a great Friday Niki:)

Leave a Reply

