Happy Blogiversary

Who woulda thunk it?  One year ago, this blog began.  It came about after much nudging from friends and family.  What finally sealed the deal was the transfer of our family from Ohio to North Carolina.  Big changes for all involved.  So much has happened over the last year.  But things are finally getting back to normal.  If there is such a thing as normal?    Now that one year has passed I think I can commit to another.  This blog is something I look forward to writing in.  A digital journal of sorts.  Not being gifted with the pen (or in this case the keyboard) has not stopped me from sharing little bits of my creations, all of my typos and misspellings and my truly poor grammar.  So if you do not mind that I am far from perfect, and creating this as I go along please stop back as I try to post little bits of my creations on a bi-weekly basis.  Many of my projects are repurposed, upcycled or recycled.

ff-mosaic-table

 

This piece is a mosaic glass tile table that was originally  this:

016  After sanding, a few coats of Krylon and 5 bags of glass tiles a fantastic new side table for my screened in porch.  Although, my friends daughter really wants it for her bedroom.  If I can find a suitable replacement for it I might give it to her as her 13th birthday present. 

I guess that gives me a really good excuse to go looking for some more flea market finds…….

About nikimeiners

Friend, Wife, Mom and an all around crafty old soul. Artist, Writer, Creative Director and Style Maker. Lover of old, fond of the new. Craver of excitement, establisher of the calm. My website http://365daysofcrafts.com Bio- Growing up in a small mid-western town, Niki Meiners was surrounded by a modest, resourceful and very entrepreneurial family. Her simple upbringing spurred her "Can do" attitude and gave her the confidence to try any challenge placed before her. She knew there was more out there than just her small town and set off after high school to explore the world. It was through these travels that she discovered her love of art and her desire to make the world a prettier place. It was not until she suffered a paralyzing illness that she realized she wanted to reconsider her corporate career as a Chief Paper Pusher, and her thoughts immediately turned to her first passion, art. In 2003 she began an odyssey that would take her from product design to publication and everywhere in between. She is known for her distinctive, high quality creations that feature a diverse mix of styles and highly creative approach to even the smallest detail. Niki is an Idea Architect, easily outlining every project from concept to completion. Her creations are simultaneously beautiful and functional and her in depth knowledge of the industry allows her to produce projects with a specific understanding of both the consumers and the manufacturers. This knowledge has allowed her work to be featured in the industries leading craft and lifestyle publications and manufacturers’ websites. nikimeiners at gmail.com
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Blogiversary

  1. carla21 says:

    Ah yes, the anniversary of you skipping town and leaving me in the lurch. :p

    I knew I should have bought that table. I looked at it twice before I didn’t buy it. Looks great!

  2. Mary says:

    Wow, this turned out beautifully!! Who would have though that dingy table could be so gorgeous! TFS your talent!
    Oh, and happy ‘anniversary’!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Beautiful job on the table. It must have been a nightmare to place the tiles. They are perfect.

  4. Pam says:

    Can’t believe it’s been a year! The table is gorgeous.

  5. Kim says:

    That table is GORGEOUS! It’s a WOW, so pat yourself on the back. I’d want it, too.

  6. Jennifer says:

    absolutely gorgeous- you’re very talented. I know I wouldn’t have the patience to do it!

  7. emy says:

    I don’t know if you’ve given this away yet, but if not, you REALLY should consider giving it to your sister-in-love. I personally know she would love it! :o)

Leave a Reply

