Social Butterfly

For those of you who do not know I also tweet and use Facebook.  I love the interaction of social media.  Random thoughts, insight into oepn conversation fascinate me.  NO, I am not a fan of those always promoting something or trying to sell me things.  (Those who are not embarrassed by their shameless self promotion quite frankly should be.)  I digressed, sorry about that.  What are your favorite forms of communication?  Do many of you Skype or belong to multiple chat groups?

Now as far as creativity goes… lately I have been expanding into photography of all sorts.  I have had a nice DSLR for about 5  years.  I thought I needed a newer version and wanted to update.  After a photo session this weekend where I participated as one of many photographers I realized I simply need to learn how to use what I have better.  I might even dig out one of my really old film cameras and try some manual shooting.   I learned so much during this shoot and it was so nice to interact with people who know what they are doing and willing to share and teach.  I took about 800 photos.  After uploading I deleted about a third of them.  They were garbage.  I was trying to shoot in full manual and learning what setting work with what what settings.  I also plan to work with the photos and do some digital editing and photoshop actions.  There are some amazing effects out there that can be achieved by the simple press of a buttom on the computer.660small

This photo is completely unedited.  I only made it smaller to take up less storage space on my blog.  These were two of the models.  The make up artist was Rachel Green and her work is fantastic.  She has some serious talent in the makeup department.  Kitty the gal on the right was the visionary for the whole shoot.  The props, concepts and creative vision was all hers.  I was mearly along for the ride and to gain some experience and knowledge.

I never would have had the photographic opportunity if it were not for social media.  So I will end this rather long winded post and say –

GO SOCIAL MEDIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About nikimeiners

Friend, Wife, Mom and an all around crafty old soul. Artist, Writer, Creative Director and Style Maker. Lover of old, fond of the new. Craver of excitement, establisher of the calm. My website http://365daysofcrafts.com Bio- Growing up in a small mid-western town, Niki Meiners was surrounded by a modest, resourceful and very entrepreneurial family. Her simple upbringing spurred her "Can do" attitude and gave her the confidence to try any challenge placed before her. She knew there was more out there than just her small town and set off after high school to explore the world. It was through these travels that she discovered her love of art and her desire to make the world a prettier place. It was not until she suffered a paralyzing illness that she realized she wanted to reconsider her corporate career as a Chief Paper Pusher, and her thoughts immediately turned to her first passion, art. In 2003 she began an odyssey that would take her from product design to publication and everywhere in between. She is known for her distinctive, high quality creations that feature a diverse mix of styles and highly creative approach to even the smallest detail. Niki is an Idea Architect, easily outlining every project from concept to completion. Her creations are simultaneously beautiful and functional and her in depth knowledge of the industry allows her to produce projects with a specific understanding of both the consumers and the manufacturers. This knowledge has allowed her work to be featured in the industries leading craft and lifestyle publications and manufacturers’ websites. nikimeiners at gmail.com
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Social Butterfly

  1. Amy says:

    The more you try to shoot on manual the more you will love it. Reading the manual helps a lot too LOL!

Leave a Reply

