Sizzix cake hop – I mean blog hop

The die cut for this hop is a multi-piece cake shaped box.  Well if I were a chef I would say I had a culinary disaster with the “cake” part of my creation.  The Die Cut was wonderful and easily put together – so I cannot blame my disaster on that.  DRAT! I had some brilliant ideas (insert loud laugh)  I had a bunch of new techniques I wanted to try.  I was so positive they would work that I dove right in and tried them on the only die cut I had.  After several versions and failures I grew tired of using the heat gun to melt off my mistakes.  SO I turned my focus on the only piece I had not yet marred. The scalloped circle.  I turned it into a cake plate.  So it is still cake related.   Under the little plate I whipped up a wired stand and it is now a cake stand.  On it are little baby cakes that taste so delicious.This is an up close shot of the baby cakes and the top portion of the cake stand.

This is the full shot of the stand and the baby cakes.  Harris Teeter makes some great props.  Can’t wait to eat them!

Please visit the other chefs, I mean designers to see how their cakes turned out.  I know I sure am.  Also stop by Eileen’s blog and vote for your favorite.  I love comments too!

Bonnie
Ann Butler
Candice Windham
Craftside-A behind-the-scenes peek at a crafty world

Debra Quartermain- Sew Cute Cake Basket
Eileen Hull

Einat Kessler
Julie McGuffee- Life in the Craft Lane
Karen Burniston
Laura Bray
Lisa Rojas
Madeline Arendt- Just a thought or two
Marisa Pawelko- Modern Surrealist
Niki Meiners
Roann Mathias Calligraphy
Sandy Laipply
Veronica Goff

About nikimeiners

Friend, Wife, Mom and an all around crafty old soul. Artist, Writer, Creative Director and Style Maker. Lover of old, fond of the new. Craver of excitement, establisher of the calm. My website http://365daysofcrafts.com Bio- Growing up in a small mid-western town, Niki Meiners was surrounded by a modest, resourceful and very entrepreneurial family. Her simple upbringing spurred her "Can do" attitude and gave her the confidence to try any challenge placed before her. She knew there was more out there than just her small town and set off after high school to explore the world. It was through these travels that she discovered her love of art and her desire to make the world a prettier place. It was not until she suffered a paralyzing illness that she realized she wanted to reconsider her corporate career as a Chief Paper Pusher, and her thoughts immediately turned to her first passion, art. In 2003 she began an odyssey that would take her from product design to publication and everywhere in between. She is known for her distinctive, high quality creations that feature a diverse mix of styles and highly creative approach to even the smallest detail. Niki is an Idea Architect, easily outlining every project from concept to completion. Her creations are simultaneously beautiful and functional and her in depth knowledge of the industry allows her to produce projects with a specific understanding of both the consumers and the manufacturers. This knowledge has allowed her work to be featured in the industries leading craft and lifestyle publications and manufacturers’ websites. nikimeiners at gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sizzix cake hop – I mean blog hop

  1. Leave it to you, Niki! This is terrific. I love the glittered scallops, and I am not a glitter girl. This is just too dang cute!

  2. Peg says:

    What a great idea! I love how you thought outside the box and used the scallop piece like this. WTG! This is so cute!

  3. Mary Beers says:

    Hi Niki, what a cute cake stand, I love it.

  4. So fun and yummy! As always you add a splash of whimsy! Debra

  5. eileen hull says:

    Way to go Niki. I have had many such disasters 🙂 I love the elegant cake plate and never thought of just using the scalloped circle. Have fun at Inspired!

  6. Karen B. says:

    Ha! Way to make lemonade, smart girl! I, too, am always nervous about altering the only piece I have for the blog hops. You did a brilliant job on your cake plate!

  7. JGoode says:

    Oh my goodness – tooo cute! I wish I had had a warning before I clicked to view… now I’m aching for a sweet treat!

  8. Laura Bray says:

    Great use of the die Niki!

  9. Ann Butler says:

    Way to funny Niki…I love what you did!

  10. A happy accident! One of the tastiest looking I have seen so far

  11. Einat Kessler says:

    wow! if all my mistakes looked like yours i never want to be right again! this is so beautiful!

  12. God is in the details! At first glance this piece is quite simplistic in design. However the simplicity and perfect proportions make it rather ingenious! What a fabulous idea to fashion a miniature cake stand! It is really sweet and would make an excellent party favor!

  13. still cute! love the cake stand!

  14. Pingback: baby-shower-cakes » Blog Archive » Comment on Sizzix cake hop – I mean blog hop by Marisa Pawelko Modern Surrealist

  15. Pingback: baby-shower-cakes » Blog Archive » Comment on Sizzix cake hop – I mean blog hop by Michelle Cummings

Leave a Reply

