Patchwork Clay Frame and Blog Hop

Patchwork Clay Frame

Patchwork Clay Frame

Clay is a very Fun material to work with.  It used to imtimidate me.  Then I made up my mind that I was going to conquer it.  Not sure that I made that happen but I did rid myself of the fear.  The first step in overcoming the fear was actually making something without burning it during the baking process.  (Clay and shrink plastic were my enemies for a while.)  I have not tackled the shrink plastic yet and the reasons are enough for another post.  Now, back to the clay.  One weekend I worked on nothing but clay.  Learning how to condition it properly, how to cut and mold it.  NOt showing you the pics from that weekend.  But I will show you this one.  Lets just say it was many, many projects later.   This project was created for a manufacturer using their molding mats.  I started this project by painting a blank wood frame from Micheal’s.  Yo know the frames the run on special for a whole dollar.  When they run those specials and I happen to be in the store I grab a few.  They make a great base for many different mediums.  Next I rolled out the clay in the pasta machine.  Then I used the mats on the clay.  I baked the clay in large pieces and cut the large pieces into smaller ones creating a patchwork effect when I placed them on the frame.  Each piece of clay was coated with Smooch ink to enhance the textures.  I worked really hard on this piece and I hated sending it away.  One day I will make one for me now that I have conquered the clay!

Starting on 3-3 I will be participating in a blog hop.  The hop is joined by a webring.  With a webring all you do is  click the link on the side bar that says hop forward or hop back.  If you go to the host page there is a list of the actual blogs particiapting.  I hope you enjoy this project and the hop.  There will be another hop shortly.

About nikimeiners

Friend, Wife, Mom and an all around crafty old soul. Artist, Writer, Creative Director and Style Maker. Lover of old, fond of the new. Craver of excitement, establisher of the calm. My website http://365daysofcrafts.com Bio- Growing up in a small mid-western town, Niki Meiners was surrounded by a modest, resourceful and very entrepreneurial family. Her simple upbringing spurred her "Can do" attitude and gave her the confidence to try any challenge placed before her. She knew there was more out there than just her small town and set off after high school to explore the world. It was through these travels that she discovered her love of art and her desire to make the world a prettier place. It was not until she suffered a paralyzing illness that she realized she wanted to reconsider her corporate career as a Chief Paper Pusher, and her thoughts immediately turned to her first passion, art. In 2003 she began an odyssey that would take her from product design to publication and everywhere in between. She is known for her distinctive, high quality creations that feature a diverse mix of styles and highly creative approach to even the smallest detail. Niki is an Idea Architect, easily outlining every project from concept to completion. Her creations are simultaneously beautiful and functional and her in depth knowledge of the industry allows her to produce projects with a specific understanding of both the consumers and the manufacturers. This knowledge has allowed her work to be featured in the industries leading craft and lifestyle publications and manufacturers’ websites. nikimeiners at gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patchwork Clay Frame and Blog Hop

  1. Candy says:

    A great use for the clay…I really need to play!

  2. Cindylu2u says:

    Fabulous frame, love the patchwork effect!!

  3. I really like your clay frame – very good ideal!

Leave a Reply

