Lamp Work Beads

I recently I participated in a jewelry swap called “Creative Canape”.  The participant in this swap exchanged handmade beads and other components to create a nice mix to send to their partner.  I was paired with Lynne Bowland www.islandgirlsinsights.blogspot.com and she created some fabulous lampwork pieces and enameled beads.

Bright swap pieces

Bright swap pieces

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could not make up my mind what to send so I sent two different canapes.  I am even like this when I entertain.  I can never decide what to cook so I make a ton.

Handmade Clay beads

Handmade Clay beads

Both swap sets

Both swap sets

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now these were the beads that I received.  Little did she know that cobalt blue is my favorite color, especially cobalt glass.  I sat the beads on my desk the day they arrived.  I added beads, I took beads away, rearranged beads and simply could not make up my mind what I wanted to do.

Now this is what I ended up with… and I bet you are going to be surprised that I did not even use one of the cobalt pieces.  I was not “feeling” it and did not want to create something that I was not happy with and/or made and took apart 25 times.  So, what I decided to do was create a pendant and a matching pair of earrings.  I am very happy with my decision to save the other pieces for when my mojo is flowing because the beads she created are beautiful and I need to do them justice.  So now when the bead fairy sprinkles me with some mojo I will share my creations.

pendant

pendant

 

earrings

earrings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

earrings and pendant

earrings and pendant

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please take a look at the other participants and their canape creations!

Keri Lee Sereika www.pinklemonade.typepad.com

 

Beth Emery www.storiesbyindigoheart.blogspot.com

Niki Meiners www.nikimeiners.wordpress.com

Karan Parker www.karanskrafts.blogspot.com

Liz DeLuca www.creativeartyfacts.blogspot.com

Lynne Bowland www.islandgirlsinsights.blogspot.com

Judy Turner www.silver-rains.blogspot.com

Erin Grant www.Erinsjewelrycreations.blogspot.com

Bryna Lumb www.brynasbeadbox.blogspot.com

Rochelle Brisson www.acreativechelle.blogspot.com

Linda Youkman www.lindysdesigns.blogspot.com

Carmen Lau www.littlemake.blogspot.com

Cheryl Foiles www.getyourbeadon.com

Kelli Jacobson www.CreativeMoonJewelryAndThings.com

Elena Gianni www.ilmondodipucci.blogspot.com

Tania Hagen www.pelimadesign.blogspot.co.nz

Cindy Muse www.cindyshandworkcrafts.blogspot.com

Stephanie Woods www.skwds.blogspot.com

Lisa Lodge www.pineridgetreasures.blogspot.com

 

About nikimeiners

Friend, Wife, Mom and an all around crafty old soul. Artist, Writer, Creative Director and Style Maker. Lover of old, fond of the new. Craver of excitement, establisher of the calm. My website http://365daysofcrafts.com Bio- Growing up in a small mid-western town, Niki Meiners was surrounded by a modest, resourceful and very entrepreneurial family. Her simple upbringing spurred her "Can do" attitude and gave her the confidence to try any challenge placed before her. She knew there was more out there than just her small town and set off after high school to explore the world. It was through these travels that she discovered her love of art and her desire to make the world a prettier place. It was not until she suffered a paralyzing illness that she realized she wanted to reconsider her corporate career as a Chief Paper Pusher, and her thoughts immediately turned to her first passion, art. In 2003 she began an odyssey that would take her from product design to publication and everywhere in between. She is known for her distinctive, high quality creations that feature a diverse mix of styles and highly creative approach to even the smallest detail. Niki is an Idea Architect, easily outlining every project from concept to completion. Her creations are simultaneously beautiful and functional and her in depth knowledge of the industry allows her to produce projects with a specific understanding of both the consumers and the manufacturers. This knowledge has allowed her work to be featured in the industries leading craft and lifestyle publications and manufacturers’ websites. nikimeiners at gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lamp Work Beads

  1. kerileesereika says:

    OH I lovvvee this! Wow the colors on this are so cool! I really like that the pendant is so funky and handmade looking with that big loop! Totally cool!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Very nice — great colors for spring. Can’t wait to see what you do with the blue beads!

  3. I mixed up the clay/copper and the green when I made my piece with your beads! Glad I picked your favorite colour looking ofrward to seeing what you make with the blue beads! I love using hollow beads for earrings … Nice set!

  4. Bryna Lumb says:

    Nice set! I really like the simplicity of it. Can’t wait to see what you do with the blue beads too!

  5. aliciaallprettythings says:

    Lovely spring colours – I am curious what will you do with the cobalt pieces, though, I *love* cobalt blue 🙂

  6. Really love the simplicity and classic lines of this set. The earrings are really nice. I would definitely wear this set with any number of outfits! – Lisa Lodge

  7. I like the clean simple lines of the pieces that you made. The silk ribbon just adds the right amount of feminity. Great job.

  8. Very nice, Niki! I love those beads! They are awesome! I love the color combinations of the silk ribbon and the beads together! Great job! =)

  9. Carmen says:

    sometimes.. simple and sweet is all you need!! 🙂

  10. Liz says:

    Love the pieces you’ve created Niki – and especially like the mixed materials you’ve used.
    The earrings are too cute!

  11. HI Nikki! Love all these! I am your button swap partner, can you email me so I can get your addy? nvalentine@shaw.ca thanks!

Leave a comment